Ukraine War Causes Borders to Close


People visiting the border of Russia and Lithuania (photo courtesy AP News).

On Monday, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania closed their borders to Russia because of the support for the war in Ukraine. The travel ban does not allow Russian citizens to travel for anything. This includes tourism, business, and sports, even if they have a valid visa. This decision was made by the Prime Ministers of Poland and the three other nations.

These Prime Ministers agreed that this would protect the security of the four countries. For Poland, the borders will close on Sept. 26. This ban will affect the economy of both Poland and its bordering Russian province, Kaliningrad. The border traffic pushes local trade and many Russians shop in the Polish cities.